Five locals win championship at Warrior Classic

By: Tom Giles Email
By: Tom Giles Email

GRAND JUNCTION, Colo. (KKCO) -- Roosevelt won it's fourth consecutive Warrior Classic with 181.5 points on Saturday night at Brownson Arena.

Montrose finished third with 157.5, the best in the region. Palisade finished 6th with 125.5, Central finished 7th with 114, Grand Junction finished 9th with 105, and Olathe finished 10th with 104.5 points.

As for the individual local champions, Dylon Thompson of Grand Junction beat Mykal Deherrera to win the 103 lb bracket.

Matt Gurule of Central defeated Timothy Urenda of Pueblo South to win the 112 lb bracket.

Jesse Hoffschneider of Grand Junction was defeated by Jared Tonder of Grand Valley for the 140 lb bracket.

Kyle Piatt of Olathe beat Blake Nygren of Roosevelt to capture the 160 lb bracket.

Jordan Passehl of Montrose defeated Justin Guynes of Dove Creek to win the 189 lb class.

Chris Maynes of Pueblo South defeated Fruita's Anthony Martin in the heavy weight (285 lb) bracket.

For highlights from the afternoon's consolation rounds, click on "part 1" video link.

For highlights from the championship round, click on "part 2" video link.

KKCO firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKCO 11News.

powered by Disqus
KKCO NBC 11 News 2531 Blichmann Avenue Grand Junction, CO 81505 Station Phone: 970.243.1111 Business Fax: 970.243.1770 Newsroom Fax: 970.245.3793 News Tip & Contest Line: 970.255.8477
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 79744447 -
Gray Television, Inc.