11 Colorado counties vote on creating 51st state

By  | 

GREELEY, Colo. (AP) Voters in 11 rural counties are deciding on a largely symbolic effort to form a 51st state called North Colorado because of what supporters call a growing disconnect with urban areas.

Colorado's Legislature and the U.S. Congress ultimately have to approve any new state -- something considered highly unlikely.

But Weld County commissioners spearheading the effort say Tuesday's votes reflect a growing frustration that state government pays more attention to Colorado's rapidly growing urban centers.

Votes took place in the counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Lincoln, Logan, Kit Carson, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Weld, Yuma and Moffat.