Seven Western States Have Signed a Water Sharing Agreement

Seven western states have signed a sweeping wate sharing agreement that officials hail as a way to blunt the impact of drought on states that draw from the Colorado River.

Interior secretary Dirk Kempthorne also signed the agreement on Thursday during a ceremony at the Colorado River water users’ association meeting in Las Vegas.

The 20 year operations plan involves Colorado, California, Arizona, Nevada, Wyoming, Utah and New Mexico.

It resolves several legal disputes and contains rules for
Cooperating to deal with shortages like the ongoing drought gripping the region.

It also has rules that'll link the big Lake Mead and lake Powell reservoirs so that, in Kempthorne's words, ``they rise and fall in tandem.''