Residents Cast Their Vote In Tri-County Elections

Thousands of residents in Mesa, Montrose and Delta Counties have cast or mailed in their ballots, as several cities and towns hold municipal elections.
Many elections were to fill city or town board seats, however, in some areas, residents did have actual ballot questions to decide upon.
In Fruita, Jim Adams, who has served two consecutive terms as mayor, will serve a third, beating out Russell David Martinez by nearly a thousand votes, 1,366-373.
Three City Council seats were also up for grabs. Out of the nine candidates, incumbent Nick Kohls (822), Ken Henry (1,050) and Lori Buck (1,150) take the City Council seats.
Also in Fruita, voters decided on Referred Issue "A". The issue, which passed 1,408-402 and is a Tabor override, will allow the city to collect, retain and spend excess tax revenues for the good of the city. The allowance will be for the next five years.
In Palisade, four town trustee seats were open, and were won by Michael J. Krueger (170), Mario A. Coringrato (210), David Hull (196) and Jim Bennett.
Delta's City Council race was won by Robert Jurca (673) in District A, Mary Cooper (821) in District B, Kay Carlquist (974) in District C and the at-large seat was won by William Sewell with 877 votes.
Montrose also held elections for its City Council. Carlos Guara won the at-large seat with 1,239 votes, while Ed Ulibarri held on to his District Two seat with 1,053 votes.
The Town of Olathe voted Lou Cooper, Dan Kelso and Ted Jiron as its Town Trustees.