Colorado's new state–wide smoking ban is effect and as all are forced to comply some bar owners are looking at their patios with new found respect.
A manger at Weavers Tavern on First and Main Streets in Grand Junction says so far it's been easy and inexpensive to comply with the Colorado Clean Indoor Air Act. Paper signs have been hung indicating smoking is only allowed on the patio and a line of tape marks the 15 feet smoking patrons must be from the entryway. Because it is the holiday weekend and only the second day of the ban Manager Coco says it's too early to tell how business is being affected, but so far the patio is keeping patrons happy.
Violators of the smoking ban face stiff penalties. A $200 fine is imposed for the first violation, $300 for the second and a $500 fine each day thereafter within a calendar year.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.