6 of 11 Colorado counties vote 'No' on 51st state

By  | 

GREELEY, Colo. (AP) Eleven rural Colorado counties delivered a divided vote on an effort to form a 51st state called North Colorado.

Six counties voted against the idea -- including Weld County, whose commissioners spearheaded the effort. They cited popular frustration with the Democrat-led state government that they claim neglects rural interests.

Unofficial returns from Tuesday's election suggested Elbert, Lincoln, Logan, Sedgwick and Moffat counties also voted against secession. Voting "Yes" were Cheyenne, Kit Carson, Phillips, Washington and Yuma counties.

Colorado's Legislature and the U.S. Congress ultimately would have to approve any new state -- something considered highly unlikely. But the movement's leaders claimed victory in attracting attention to their complaints.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus