GRAND JUNCTION, Colo. (KKCO) - The no texting while driving law has been in effect for 10 days in Colorado and local law enforcement says people are either obeying or they just aren't catching them.
Not one ticket has been written in the Grand Valley for the offense.
11News checked with Colorado State Patrol, the Mesa County Sheriff's Office and the Grand Junction, Fruita and Palisade Police Departments and found they haven't issued any tickets.
As of December 1 it became illegal to text while you're behind the wheel. The new law isn't just for texting. Anytime you're looking down at your cell phone for any reason, even dialing a number, you can be pulled over.
It's a $50 fine the first time and $100 the second.
KKCO firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKCO 11News.powered by Disqus
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.