CMU Symphony Orchestra hosts “Musical Collage”

By: KKCO Email
By: KKCO Email

GRAND JUNCTION, Colo. (KKCO)- Colorado Mesa University will present their Fall Concert on Monday, Oct. 8 at 7:30 pm in the Robinson Theatre.

“A Musical Collage” will feature a variety of musical pieces from different periods of time.

The program will start with the “Academic Festival Overture” by Johannes Brahms. Brahms composed this overture during the summer of 1880 as a musical “thank you” to the University of Breslau, which had awarded him an honorary doctorate the previous year.

The second piece will feature our new Assistant Professor of cello and bass, Kristen Yeon-Ji Yun. Kristen Yun is a top-prize winner that has competed in several competitions around the world and is finishing her Doctorate this October with world known cellist Janos Starker at Indiana University Jacobs School of Music. Kristen will perform Haydn’s Concerto No. 2 in D Major.

The second half of the program will feature Sibelius’ “Valse Triste”, a piece written in 1903 as part of his incidental music for the drama “Kuolema” as well as two Latin American composers, Alberto Ginastera and Arturo Marquez. Gintastera wrote his ballet Estanoia and was inspired by the Argentine folklore and the Gauchesco tradition. The “Malambo” is an Argentine dance that contains both of these elements. The concert will finish with Marquez’s “Danzon No. 2” a piece that depicts a big dance full of rhythmic accents and Mexican flair.

Tickets for the Symphony Concert are available at the box office by calling 970-248-1604.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
KKCO NBC 11 News
2531 Blichmann Avenue
Grand Junction, CO 81505

Station Phone: 970.243.1111
Business Fax: 970.243.1770
Newsroom Fax: 970.245.3793
News Tip & Contest Line: 970.255.8477
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 173037641 -
Gray Television, Inc.