SWL Football Awards feature Rubalcaba, Walker and Owens

By: Tom Giles Email
By: Tom Giles Email

GRAND JUNCTION, Colo. (KKCO) -- After winning their first SWL title in five years, the Grand Junction Tigers dominated the SWL awards. Sean Rubalcaba was named the SWL offensive player of the year, Casey Walker was named defensive player of the year, and Robbie Owens was given co-coach of the year.

Rubalcaba was 90-140 (64%) for 1457 passing yards and 13 touchdowns. The dual-threat quarterback also rushed 144 times for 1314 yards and 17 touchdowns. Combined, the junior was responsible for 30 touchdowns and just 10 turnovers, five of which came in the first game of the season.

Walker led the Tigers with 39 solo tackles, 8 tackles for a loss, and 13 sacks. The senior defensive lineman also forced a fumble and was credited with one pass deflection.

For a complete list of the all-conference winners, click on the attachment above called "SWL Football All-Conference Awards".

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by Dee Location: Grand Junction on Nov 23, 2010 at 08:46 AM
    Robbie Owens co-coach of the year? Who is the other co-coach?
KKCO NBC 11 News
2531 Blichmann Avenue
Grand Junction, CO 81505

Station Phone: 970.243.1111
Business Fax: 970.243.1770
Newsroom Fax: 970.245.3793
News Tip & Contest Line: 970.255.8477
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 109979489 - nbc11news.com/a?a=109979489
Gray Television, Inc.