Members Of Mesa County Political Parties Choose New Leadership, Boasting Unity

Members of both major political parties in Mesa County gather Saturday to hold elections to determine who will lead their parties into a critical election period. Members of the republican party gathered at Grand Junction's city hall. Up for election are seats on the Mesa County Republican Party Central Committee including chairpersons, secretary, and treasurer. Many candidates talked of restoring harmony among party members after divisive races in November took their toll on party unity. Newly–elected party Chair Lois Dunn says republicans will encourage more involvement in the process as a way to make a stronger party. Dunn says she also wants to give a stronger voice to Mesa County in statewide party matters. In addition to Ms. Dunn others elected include Sandy Caskey as First Vice Chair and Steve Acquafresca as Second Vice Chair. The Democrats also chose new leadership Saturday. Mitchell Rothman will take over for outgoing Chairperson Skip Mottram. Constance Howland, Mike Erven, Betty Tidwell,Tara Henry, Elizabeth Rowland, and Jeff Smith will fill the four vice chair, one secretary, and one treasurer positions.
© KKCO NBC 11 News - All Rights Reserved

KKCO NBC 11 News
2531 Blichmann Avenue
Grand Junction, CO 81505

Station Phone: 970.243.1111
Business Fax: 970.243.1770
Newsroom Fax: 970.245.3793
News Tip & Contest Line: 970.255.8477
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 2031642 -
Gray Television, Inc.