In an effort to curb underage drinking Colorado lawmakers enact tougher penalties to those who supply alcohol to minors. Starting this Friday anyone over the age of 21 providing alcohol will now face up to 18 months in jail and a fine of $500 to $5,000. Penalities under the old law included a year in jail and a fine up to $1,000. With seven alcohol–related deaths in Colorado in a four–month period last year, lawmakers said dealing with underage drinking has become a priority. Along with jail time and fines, the new law allows judges to also suspend the driver's license for someone who provides alcohol to a minor.
© KKCO NBC 11 News - All Rights Reserved
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.