FEMA denies aid designation for some CO counties

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

DENVER (AP) The Federal Emergency Management Agency has determined that some Colorado counties don't qualify for public or individual assistance in the aftermath of September's flooding.

FEMA notified Gov. John Hickenlooper Wednesday of its decision to deny the assistance designation for some counties as requested by the state. FEMA says in a letter that assessments show the damage to residences in Broomfield, Denver, Gilpin, Otero, and Pueblo counties is not severe enough to warrant a designation for individual assistance.

The letter goes on to say that the damage to infrastructure in Broomfield, Otero, and Pueblo counties is not severe enough to warrant a designation for public assistance.

The state has 30 days to appeal FEMA's determination.

So far, 11 counties qualify for individual assistance and 18 counties qualify for public assistance.

KKCO firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKCO 11News.

powered by Disqus
KKCO NBC 11 News 2531 Blichmann Avenue Grand Junction, CO 81505 Station Phone: 970.243.1111 Business Fax: 970.243.1770 Newsroom Fax: 970.245.3793 News Tip & Contest Line: 970.255.8477
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 230202281 - nbc11news.com/a?a=230202281
Gray Television, Inc.