New Year, New Laws

By: Ian Margol Email
By: Ian Margol Email

GRAND JUNCTION, Colo. We all know with the new year, minimum wage will increase to $8 and the recreational sale of pot becomes legal in Colorado.

But the legislature passed many laws, some you may not know about.

As of January 1st:

- 16-year-olds in Colorado will be allowed to pre-register to vote

- Drivers will see a new, $50 annual fee for driving electric or special fuel vehicles

- Divorce cases filed after the 1st of the year will have new guidelines on the awarding of alimony

- Owners of diesel-powered motor vehicles can demonstrate compliance with air quality standards by following and submitting proof of exemplary maintenance practices.

*NOTE: A previous version of this story mistakenly stated the blood alcohol content for a DUI would be dropped from .08 to a .05.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
KKCO NBC 11 News
2531 Blichmann Avenue
Grand Junction, CO 81505

Station Phone: 970.243.1111
Business Fax: 970.243.1770
Newsroom Fax: 970.245.3793
News Tip & Contest Line: 970.255.8477
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 238306341 -
Gray Television, Inc.