Peyton Manning, Champ Bailey lead five Broncos NFL Pro Bowl Selections

By: Mike Klis, The Denver Post Email
By: Mike Klis, The Denver Post Email

Denver, Colo.-- The Denver Broncos placed five players on the AFC Pro Bowl team Wednesday.

The five honored Broncos: Quarterback Peyton Manning, outside linebacker Von Miller, cornerback Champ Bailey, left tackle Ryan Clady and defensive end Elvis Dumervil.

"I do my thing and I’ve done my thing over the years," Bailey said in a release. "But when you’re on a team like this and you play well, people are going to notice. It’s really just part of my team and what we’ve done. That’s pretty much why I’m in there. It’s definitely a team thing."

The biggest surprise was that Broncos receiver Demaryius Thomas was omitted even though he has 87 catches for 1,312 yards and nine touchdowns.

The problem for Thomas wasn't that the four AFC receivers picked ahead of him — Wes Welker, A.J. Green, Andre Johnson and Reggie Wayne — didn't deserve their selections. Those four are having big years.

The NFL remains stuck in the three-yards-and-a-cloud-of-dust age of picking a fullback — a position many teams, including the Broncos, hardly ever use — for their Pro Bowl team while only four receivers are selected.

The Broncos hope to skip the Pro Bowl, anyway, as they may have a team worthy of playing instead the following week in the Super Bowl. The Pro Bowl will be played Jan. 27 in Hawaii. Super Bowl XLVII will be played the following Sunday, Feb. 3, in New Orleans.

Still, whether or not the all-star Broncos play in the Pro Bowl, it's the selection that counts. Manning and Bailey set records with their Pro Bowl berths. Manning was named for a 12th time, one more than Brett Favre for most-ever by a quarterback. Bailey was also named for a 12th time, extending his record for a cornerback.

It was the second Pro Bowl honor in two years for Miller, who leads the Broncos with 17 ½ sacks. Dumervil and Clady were both named for the third time in four years.

Thomas wasn't the only Bronco who had Pro Bowl-caliber production but wasn't honored. Others were outside linebacker Wesley Woodard, who has 5 ½ sacks, three interceptions and team-leading 113 tackles; special teams standout David Burton, punter Britton Colquitt, left guard Zane Beadles and cornerback Chris Harris.

KKCO firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKCO 11News.

powered by Disqus
KKCO NBC 11 News 2531 Blichmann Avenue Grand Junction, CO 81505 Station Phone: 970.243.1111 Business Fax: 970.243.1770 Newsroom Fax: 970.245.3793 News Tip & Contest Line: 970.255.8477
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 184882281 -
Gray Television, Inc.