Shanahan Defends Officiating Crew

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. (AP) - Sure, the Denver Broncos lucked out Sunday. All across the league, fans and teams are abuzz over referee Ed Hochuli's blown call that helped Denver put away the San Diego Chargers.

But coach Mike Shanahan disputes the notion that his team was handed their 39-38 win on a silver platter.

Shanahan says the Broncos still had to go out there and get it into the end zone. And he defended Hochuli, who drew harsh criticism from Chargers coach Norv Turner and San Diego tailback Ladainian Tomlinson.

Shanahan says the officiating crew "did a heck of a job" and that even if the call wasn't right, "that is the nature of this game."

(Copyright 2008 By The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


KKCO NBC 11 News 2531 Blichmann Avenue Grand Junction, CO 81505 Station Phone: 970.243.1111 Business Fax: 970.243.1770 Newsroom Fax: 970.245.3793 News Tip & Contest Line: 970.255.8477
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 28469819