Shannon Sharpe Among Pro Hall Candidates

CANTON, Ohio (AP) - Defensive end Bruce Smith, defensive back Rod Woodson and tight end Shannon Sharpe are among first-year candidates for induction into the Pro Football Hall Of Fame.

The list includes 110 players, seven coaches and 16 contributors, including former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue and longtime team owners Bud Adams, Jerry Jones, Art Modell and Ralph Wilson.

Twenty-five semifinalists will be announced later this month and the field will then be narrowed to 15 by a mail ballot. The inductees will be selected from among those 15 and the two senior nominees previously announced, Bob Hayes and Claude Humphrey.

The 2009 induction class will be chosen on January 31, the day before the Super Bowl. As few as four and as many as seven can be selected.

(Copyright 2008 By The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)