AL, NL Managers Of The Year Announced

By  | 

NEW YORK (AP) - Tampa Bay's Joe Maddon finished one vote shy of being a unanimous pick for American League Manager of the Year after leading the Rays from worst to first in the junior circuit.

Chicago's Lou Piniella beat out Charlie Manuel of the World Series Champion Philadelphia phillies for the National League Honor after guiding the Cubs to the best record in the league and a second straight NL central title.

(Copyright 2008 By The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)