Sharpe Named Hall Of Fame Finalist

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

CANTON, Ohio (AP) - Former Denver Broncos tight end Shannon Sharpe, plus Bruce Smith, Rod Woodson and John Randle are among the 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall Of Fame - the only first-year eligible players to make the final round this year.

Joining them will be two contributors: former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue and Buffalo Bills owner Ralph Wilson, as well as two senior nominees selected last August by the senior committee: former Atlanta defensive end Claude Humphrey and former Dallas wide receiver Bob Hayes.

Between four and seven candidates will be elected in balloting that will take place in Tampa on Jan. 31, the day before the Super Bowl.

Sharpe holds the records for receptions by a tight end with 815.

(Copyright 2009 By The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
KKCO NBC 11 News
2531 Blichmann Avenue
Grand Junction, CO 81505

Station Phone: 970.243.1111
Business Fax: 970.243.1770
Newsroom Fax: 970.245.3793
News Tip & Contest Line: 970.255.8477
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 37230879 -
Gray Television, Inc.