Romo Named RMAC's All-Time MVP

By  | 

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- March 25, 2009 -- The top 12 players and head coach in RMAC baseball history have been selected to help celebrate the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference's 100th anniversary in 2009. The RMAC is the fourth oldest conference in the country, and the most historic in the western U.S.

The RMAC All-Time Baseball Team was selected by representatives from the conference's schools that participate in the sport of baseball. Baseball was the first sport ever played in the RMAC, with the first known game taking place in April of 1909.

San Francisco Giants pitcher Sergio Romo leads the team. Romo was RMAC Pitcher of the Year in 2005, while going 14-1 for Mesa State College. Romo is currently in spring training with the Giants in Arizona.

"To be honest, I'm a little surprised," said Romo on the "This Week in the RMAC" radio show. "I've heard of other players who represented the RMAC, they represented their teams well and their hometowns well and they came out and played the game well. I feel privileged to be acknowledged with the guys who played before me."

The RMAC All-Time Top Coach is Bob Fornelli, who led Fort Hays State to the championship game of the 2000 College World Series. Fornelli has four RMAC championships on his resume and led the Tigers to six NCAA Division II tournaments in seven seasons.

Eight schools are represented on the 12-man all-time team.

As part of the Centennial Celebration, all-time teams are being selected in 19 RMAC sports. The RMAC's Centennial Celebration will take place on July 11, 2009 at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort in Colorado Springs. A new all-time team will be recognized each month leading up to the celebration.

RMAC Baseball All-Time Team:

P - Sergio Romo, Mesa State College: Starting pitcher in 2005, RMAC Pitcher of the Year '05, First team All-American, 14-1 record, 2.46 ERA with 129 K, Currently with the San Francisco Giants.

P - Brett Armour, Mesa State College 2006-2007. RMAC pitcher of the year '07, All-American.

2B - Cody Lusero, Nebraska-Kearney 2004-2007. RMAC Player of the year '07. All-American, Academic All-American.

P - Nate Field, Fort Hays State 1997-1998. First team All-American, has played in seven MLB seasons and is currently in the Florida Marlins organization.

OF - Jeff Bieker, Fort Hays State 2003-2005. RMAC player of the year '05. First team All-American. Led NCAA Div. II in Homers in 2005 with 23.

INF - Freddy Flores, N.M. Highlands 1994-1997. RMAC batting champion in 1997 with .463 batting average.

1B - Sam Christiansen, CSU-Pueblo 2001-2002. 2-Time RMAC player of the year, All-American, NCAA Div. II record for doubles in a season with 32.

C - Reece Gorman, Metro State 2005-2008. 2-Time first team all RMAC. All-American.

OF - Sean Van Elderen, Mesa State 2005-2006. RMAC Player of the year 2006. 2-Time first team All-American.

3B - Matt Levering, Regis 2004. RMAC player of the year '04. First team All-American.

SS - Steve Caruso, Regis 1976-1979. 2-time first team all RMAC. Led nation in hitting in 1979 with .486 batting average.

OF - Tony Wittmus, CSU-Pueblo 2002, 2004. First team All-American 2004. 33 game hit streak (longest in RMAC history).

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus