D-II Womens Hoops Title Goes To MSU-Mankato

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

SAN ANTONIO (AP) - Heather Johnson had 29 points to lead Minnesota State-Mankato to a 103-94 victory over Franklin Pierce in the Division II National Championship game Friday night, the Mavericks' first basketball title in school history.

Johnson hit five 3-pointers to break the school record for a season, and finished 11-for-17 from the field. Alex Andrews added 25 points and 11 rebounds for Minnesota State (32-2), while Tiffany Moe and Joanne Noreen each scored 18 points.

It was the first meeting between the schools, and the first appearance by either program in the finals.

(Copyright 2009 By The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

KKCO firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKCO 11News.

powered by Disqus
KKCO NBC 11 News 2531 Blichmann Avenue Grand Junction, CO 81505 Station Phone: 970.243.1111 Business Fax: 970.243.1770 Newsroom Fax: 970.245.3793 News Tip & Contest Line: 970.255.8477
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 42036157 - nbc11news.com/a?a=42036157
Gray Television, Inc.