24 Rox Games Blacked Out on Bresnan

By: Sam Farnsworth Email
By: Sam Farnsworth Email

GRAND JUNCTION - Colorado Rockies fans all over the Grand Valley turned on their television sets for opening day only to find out the game was not being broadcast on TV.

Bresnan Communications decided to blackout 24 games this season to Bresnan costumers, including five of the first six Rockies games of the season.

"Fox Sports Rocky Mountain picked out 24 games that they wanted to place a surcharge on which is an additional license fee to carry those games," Bresnan Communications General Manager Sean Hogue said. "Our decision to decline those games was simply a financial one."

Hogue explained in a over-the-phone invterview with 11 Sports that had Bresnan decided to air the 24 games, they would have had to charge Bresnan costumers the difference to be able to pay for the fees.

"We felt that with the economic times and trying to be cost consciencious, this probably wasn't the year to pass that cost onto customers," Hogue added.

All 24 blacked out games are scheduled to be played in April and May. Eleven of 18 games will not be aired by Bresnan in April, and 13 of 28 games in May will not be seen on Bresnan.

See below for the complete Rockies schedule of blacked out games.

2009 COLORADO ROCKIES ON FSN
Schedule is subject to change.*
**Denotes games blacked out locally on Bresnan Communications

APRIL
**Mon., April 6 at Arizona 1:30 p.m.
**Tues., April 7 at Arizona 7:30 p.m.
Wed., April 8 at Arizona 1:30 p.m.
**Fri., April 10 Philadelphia 2:00 p.m.
**Sat., April 11 Philadelphia 6:00 p.m.
**Sun., April 12 Philadelphia 1:00 p.m.
Mon., April 13 at Chicago Cubs Noon
Wed., April 15 at Chicago Cub Noon
**Fri., April 17 at L.A. Dodgers 8:00 p.m.
**Sun., April 19 at L.A. Dodgers 2:00 p.m.
Mon., April 20 at Arizona 7:30 p.m.
**Tues., April 21 at Arizona 7:30 p.m.
**Fri., April 24 L.A. Dodgers 7:00 p.m.
Sat., April 2 L.A. Dodgers 6:00 p.m.
**Sun., April 26 L.A. Dodgers 1:00 p.m.
Mon., April 27 San Diego 6:30 p.m.
**Tues., April 28 San Diego 6:30 p.m.
Wed., April 29 San Diego 1:00 p.m.

MAY
**Fri., May 1 at San Francisco 8:00 p.m.
Sun., May 3 at San Francisco 2:00 p.m.
**Mon., May 4 at San Diego 8:00 p.m.
Tues., May 5 at San Diego 8:00 p.m.
**Wed., May 6 San Francisco 6:30 p.m.
Thurs., May 7 San Francisco 1:00 p.m.
**Fri., May 8 Florida 7:00 p.m.
Sat., May 9 Florida 6:00 p.m.
**Sun., May 10 Florida 1:00 p.m.
**Tues., May 12 Houston 6:30 p.m.
**Wed., May 13 Houston 6:30 p.m.
Thurs., May 14 Houston 1:00 p.m.
Fri., May 15 at Pittsburgh 5:00 p.m.
**Sat., May 16 at Pittsburgh 5:00 p.m.
Sun., May 17 at Pittsburgh 11:30 a.m.
Mon., May 18 at Atlanta 5:00 p.m.
**Tues., May 19 at Atlanta 5:00 p.m.
Wed., May 20 at Atlanta 5:00 p.m.
Thurs., May 21 at Atlanta 5:00 p.m.
Fri., May 22 at Detroit 5:00 p.m.
**Sat., May 23 at Detroit 5:00 p.m.
Sun., May 24 at Detroit 11:00 a.m.
Mon., May 25 L.A. Dodgers 1:00 p.m.
**Tues., May 26 L.A. Dodgers 6:30 p.m.
Wed., May 27 L.A. Dodgers 1:00 p.m.
**Fri., May 29 San Diego 7:00 p.m.
Sat., May 30 San Diego 6:00 p.m.
**Sun., May 31 San Diego 1:00 p.m.

JUNE
Mon., June 1 at Houston 6:00 p.m.
Tues., June 2 at Houston 6:00 p.m.
Wed., June 3 at Houston 6:00 p.m.
Thurs., June 4 at Houston 6:00 p.m.
Fri., June 5 at St. Louis 6:00 p.m.
Sat., June 6 at St. Louis 5:00 p.m.
Sun., June 7 at St. Louis Noon
Tues., June 9 at Milwaukee 6:00 p.m.
Wed., June 10 at Milwaukee 6:00 p.m.
Fri., June 12 Seattle 7:00 p.m.
Sat., June 13 Seattle 6:00 p.m.
Sun., June 14 Seattle 1:00 p.m.
Tues., June 16 Tampa Bay 6:30 p.m.
Wed., June 17 Tampa Bay 6:30 p.m.
Thurs., June 18 Tampa Bay 1:00 p.m.
Fri., June 19 Pittsburgh 7:00 p.m.
Sat., June 20 Pittsburgh 6:00 p.m.
Sun., June 21 Pittsburgh 1:00 p.m.
Mon., June 22 at L.A. Angels 8:00p.m.
Tues., June 23 at L.A. Angels 8:00 p.m.
Wed., June 24 at L.A. Angels 8:00 p.m.
Fri., June 26 at Oakland 8:00 p.m.
Sat., June 27 at Oakland 7:00 p.m.
Sun., June 28 at Oakland 2:00 p.m.
Mon., June 29 at L.A. Dodgers 8:00 p.m.
Tues., June 30 at L.A. Dodgers 8:00 p.m.

JULY
Fri., July 3 Arizona 6:00 p.m.
Sat., July 4 Arizona 6:00 p.m.
Sun., July 5 Arizona 1:00 p.m.
Mon., July 6 Washington 6:30 p.m.
Tues., July 7 Washington 6:30 p.m.
Thurs., July 9 Atlanta 6:30 p.m.
Fri., July 10 Atlanta 7:00 p.m.
Sat., July 11 Atlanta 6:00 p.m.
Sun., July 12 Atlanta 1:00 p.m.
Thurs., July 16 at San Diego 8:00 p.m.
Fri., July 17 at San Diego 8:00 p.m.
Sat., July 18 at San Diego 8:00 p.m.
Sun., July 19 at San Diego 2:00 p.m.
Mon., July 20 Arizona 6:30 p.m.
Tues., July 21 Arizona 6:30 p.m.
Wed., July 22 Arizona 1:00 p.m.
Fri., July 24 San Francisco 7:00 p.m.
Sat., July 25 San Francisco 6:00 p.m.
Sun., July 26 San Francisco 1:00 p.m.
Mon., July 27 at New York Mets 5:00 p.m.
Tues., July 28 at New York Mets 5:00 p.m.
Wed., July 29 at New York Mets 5:00 p.m.
Fri., July 31 at Cincinnati 5:00 p.m.

AUGUST
Sat., Aug. 1 at Cincinnati 5:00 p.m.
Sun., Aug. at Cincinnati 11:00 a.m.
Tues., Aug. 4 at Philadelphia 5:00 p.m.
Wed., Aug. 5 at Philadelphia 5:00 p.m.
Fri., Aug. 7 Chicago Cubs 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 8 Chicago Cubs 6:00 p.m.
Sun., Aug. 9 Chicago Cubs 1:00 p.m.
Mon., Aug. 10 Chicago Cubs 6:30 p.m.
Tues., Aug. 11 Pittsburgh 6:30 p.m.
Wed., Aug. 12 Pittsburgh 6:30 p.m.
Thurs., Aug. 13 Pittsburgh 1:00 p.m.
Fri., Aug. 14 at Florida 5:00 p.m.
Sun., Aug. 16 at Florida 3:00 p.m.
Tues., Aug. 18 at Washington 5:00 p.m.
Wed., Aug. 19 at Washington 5:00 p.m.
Thurs., Aug. 20 at Washington 5:00 p.m.
Fri., Aug. 21 San Francisco 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 22 San Francisco 6:00 p.m.
Sun., Aug. 23 San Francisco 1:00 p.m.
Mon., Aug. 24 San Francisco 6:30 p.m.
Tues., Aug. 25 L.A. Dodgers 6:30 p.m.
Wed., Aug. 26 L.A. Dodgers 6:30 p.m.
Fri., Aug. 28 at San Francisco 8:00 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 29 at San Francisco 7:00 p.m.
Sun., Aug. 30 at San Francisco 2:00 p.m.

SEPTEMBER
Tues., Sept. 1 New York Mets 6:30 p.m.
Wed., Sept. 2 New York Mets 6:30 p.m.
Fri., Sept. 4 Arizona 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 5 Arizona 6:00 p.m.
Sun., Sept. 6 Arizona 1:00 p.m.
Mon., Sept. 7 Cincinnati 1:00 p.m.
Tues., Sept. 8 Cincinnati 6:30 p.m.
Wed., Sept. 9 Cincinnati 6:30 p.m.
Thurs., Sept. 10 Cincinnati 1:00 p.m.
Fri., Sept. 11 at San Diego 8:00 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 12 at San Diego 8:00 p.m.
Sun., Sept. 13 at San Diego 2:00 p.m.
Mon., Sept. 14 at San Francisco 8:00 p.m.
Tues., Sept. 15 at San Francisco 8:00 p.m.
Wed., Sept. 16 at San Francisco 8:00 p.m.
Fri., Sept. 18 at Arizona 7:30 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 19 at Arizona 6:00 p.m.
Sun., Sept. 20 at Arizona 2:00 p.m.
Tues., Sept. 22 San Diego 6:30 p.m.
Wed., Sept. 23 San Diego 6:30 p.m.
Thurs., Sept. 24 San Diego 6:30 p.m.
Fri., Sept. 25 St. Louis 6:00 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 26 St. Louis 6:00 p.m.
Sun., Sept. 27 St. Louis 1:00 p.m.
Tues., Sept. 29 Milwaukee 6:30 p.m.
Wed., Sept. 30 Milwaukee 6:30 p.m.

OCTOBER
Thurs., Oct. 1 Milwaukee 1:00 p.m.
Fri., Oct. 2 at L.A. Dodgers 8:00 p.m.
Sat., Oct. 3 at L.A. Dodgers 8:00 p.m.
Sun., Oct. 4 at L.A. Dodgers 2:00 p.m.

ALL TIMES LISTED IN MOUNTAIN DAYLIGHT TIME.

*All aspects of the schedule are subject to change
at the discretion of FSN.


KKCO firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKCO 11News.

powered by Disqus
KKCO NBC 11 News 2531 Blichmann Avenue Grand Junction, CO 81505 Station Phone: 970.243.1111 Business Fax: 970.243.1770 Newsroom Fax: 970.245.3793 News Tip & Contest Line: 970.255.8477
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 42553722 - nbc11news.com/a?a=42553722
Gray Television, Inc.