Denver Broncos: Five players selected to 2014 Pro Bowl

By: Krystle Sonmore Email
By: Krystle Sonmore Email

GRAND JUNCTION, Colo. The NFL announced the 2014 Pro Bowl selections on Friday. Among the 88 players selected, five Broncos made the cut - Peyton Manning, Demaryius Thomas, Julius Thomas, Matt Prater, and Louis Vasquez.

Manning ties for 2nd most all-time selections to the Pro Bowl with his 13th (Bruce Matthews and Merlin Olsen are tied for first with 14 each). Wide receiver Demaryius Thomas earned his second consecutive bid. He's registered 86 receptions for over 1,300 yards and 12 touchdowns.

Tight end Julius Thomas, kicker Matt Prater, and guard Louis Vasquez all earned a trip to Hawaii for the first time in their careers. Julius has had 60 catches for 752 yards and 12 touchdowns. Prater set a new NFL record with a 64-yard field goal against the Titans, and Vasquez anchors an one of the best offensive lines in the league.

The AFC versus NFC format will be thrown out in 2014. Instead, players will participate in a draft set for January 22nd. The Pro Bowl will be played on January 26th on NBC.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
KKCO NBC 11 News
2531 Blichmann Avenue
Grand Junction, CO 81505

Station Phone: 970.243.1111
Business Fax: 970.243.1770
Newsroom Fax: 970.245.3793
News Tip & Contest Line: 970.255.8477
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 237757601 -
Gray Television, Inc.