GRAND JUNCTION, Colo. (KJCT)-- The Colorado Senate is considering a bill that would fine drivers who don't yield to cyclists in the bike lane.
The bill aims to lower the number of cyclists killed by drivers.
If a driver breaks the proposed law, he or she could get a $70 dollar ticket, or in other cases be charged with careless driving.
"On the Riverside Parkway is a great example, they have a bike lane that goes the length of the parkway there, but where there are roads that do turn off of it, the drivers do have to cross that bike lane to get into the turn lane,” says The Bike Shop Bryan Miick.
Colorado does have a "3-foot-law,"currently in place. Cars must give at least 3 feet of space when passing a bicycle.