Mesa County Libraries sticking with late fees
Imagine not having to pay late fees at your local library. It’s an idea that several districts in Colorado are considering.
The Denver Public Library will stop charging people late fees starting Spring of 2019.
The hope is to take the pressure off those who can’t afford to pay the fees, and get more traffic in the door.
However, here in town, the Mesa County Library district says their late fees and fines for lost items generate about $72,000 a year, and they serve as incentives to get library books back on time.
“Going fine free is an idea that is kind of picking up momentum in the library community, especially in Colorado. There are a lot of libraries thinking about it. We are not considering it. Yet," said Communications Manager for Mesa County Libraries, Bob Kretschman.
The library says they try to work with those who struggle to pay late fees, and currently, cap them at $5 for adult materials and $2 for kids items.